RSS

Tyra Banks too fat

16 May

Since this title is the #1 searched for today I thought I would blog about it. Yahoo put out an article comparing Tyra Banks picture with the newer Victoria’s secret model Chanel Iman. Almost all comments said they thought Chanel looked bad and Tyra good.

Tyra said “The truth is that if I was just starting to model at age 17 in 2012, I could not have had the career that I did. I would’ve been considered too heavy,” Banks writes. “In my time, the average model’s size was a four or six. Today you are expected to be a size zero. When I started out, I didn’t know such a size even existed.”

Tyra has agreed with Vogue for banning thin models who “appear to have an eating disorder” from all 19 of its editions worldwide. While Gisele Bundchen told Brazilian newspaper Globo in 2007 “I never suffered this problem because I had a very strong family base,” . “The parents are responsible, not fashion.”

Is it fair to compare these two women? Shouldn’t they both be allowed to model? Does Chanel look anorexic or healthy but thin? I think they both look great!

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 02/23/2011 in Beauty, The Perfect Body

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Tyra Banks too fat

  1. cultureofcute

    02/23/2011 at 5:33 -07:0005

    I think Tyra looks fantastic!

     

Leave a comment