RSS

Rejected

30 May

Rejection is hard to face but everyone has encountered it at one point or another. I’ve been feeling down lately from the constant auditioning and lack thereof. Jobs are slower than ever. Maybe it’s the economy. Maybe it’s me. Maybe it’s the industry. Maybe…who knows. I had this one job on my mind forever and I feel helpless. I went in for the audition but have not gotten called back. It’s a big project. I want it bad. What more can I do…? Hadn’t I done all I could do? Ask my agent to get me in again? I tried. No response yet. I try to remind myself to keep my head up.

Marilyn Monroe: Despite a rough upbringing and being told by modeling agents that she should instead consider being a secretary, Monroe became a pin-up, model and actress that still strikes a chord with people today.

Elvis Presley: Back in 1954, Elvis was still a nobody, and Jimmy Denny, manager of the Grand Ole Opry, fired Elvis Presley after just one performance telling him, “You ain’t goin’ nowhere, son. You ought to go back to drivin’ a truck.”

R. H. Macy: Most people are familiar with this large department store chain, but Macy didn’t always have it easy. Macy started seven failed business before finally hitting big with his store in New York City.

Albert Einstein: Einstein did not speak until he was four and did not read until he was seven, causing his teachers and parents to think he was mentally handicapped, slow and anti-social. Eventually, he was expelled from school and was refused admittance to the Zurich Polytechnic School. It might have taken him a bit longer, but most people would agree that he caught on pretty well in the end, winning the Nobel Prize and changing the face of modern physics.

Fred Astaire: In his first screen test, the testing director of MGM noted that Astaire, “Can’t act. Can’t sing. Slightly bald. Can dance a little.” Astaire went on to become an incredibly successful actor, singer and dancer and kept that note in his Beverly Hills home to remind him of where he came from.

Babe Ruth: You probably know Babe Ruth because of his home run record (714 during his career), but along with all those home runs came a pretty hefty amount of strikeouts as well (1,330 in all). In fact, for decades he held the record for strikeouts. When asked about this he simply said, “Every strike brings me closer to the next home run.”

Harland David Sanders: Perhaps better known as Colonel Sanders of Kentucky Fried Chicken fame, Sanders had a hard time selling his chicken at first. In fact, his famous secret chicken recipe was rejected 1,009 times before a restaurant accepted it.

If Colonel Sanders can get rejected 1,008 times and still push forward then there is absolutely no reason for me to complain. As Babe Ruth put it “Every strike brings me closer to the next home run” I must get excited for the day my home run is made.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 02/23/2011 in Life Style, Tools

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
