RSS

Healthy weight gain

01 Jun

While my entire family and friends try to lose the pounds, for the last week I have been trying to gain. I feel discouraged as I have not gained 1 single pound. My friends are baffled. My family is over it.

I have usually eaten 2000 calories a day. In order to gain I must eat at least 500 calories more each day. I’ve stopped all cardio exercising and will just focus on weight training to gain pounds.

Since I have always been a size 0 and now it seems size 0 is out in the industry and EVERYONE has been telling me I look unhealthy, I’ve decide to try to get bigger but in a healthy manner. Is this possible? I tend to store fat around my stomach and never in my legs, arms or hips. I want to get a flatter, more toned stomach at the same time gain weight…I have been lifting weights and counting calories to make sure I am in taking enough calories to gain. I am and still want to stay a pescatarian, a vegetarian but I also eat fish, putting on the pounds can be tricky

My goal: A size 2.

This morning I went to Ihop. I didn’t exactly order extremely healthy today (the red velvet pancakes) and this could put on unwanted fat around my stomach…but hopefully that will turn to muscle during my weight training.

Breakfast:

2 eggs scrambled (added bellpeppers and onion) with hash browns with the red velvet pancake combo ( i opted for no meat) – roughly 1000 calories

OJ – 100calories

=1100 calories for Breakfast

Lunch:

1Tortia – 150calories

with 3 pieces of melted cheese -330 calories

with Tahini spread – 90 calories

with an egg – 65 calories

and I ate natto on the side ( this might sound gross to most but Natto is really healthy and has always been one of my favorite foods. It’s a Japanese thing) – 373 calories

a glass of coconut almond milk by almond breeze unsweetened – 45 calories

=1053 calories for Lunch

I just lifted weights

Legs – squats(3 sets of 10 with two 15 pound dumbbells), Lunges (3 sets of 10 with two 15 pound dumbbells), Leg extension machine ( 3 sets of 10 with 30 pound weight)

Arms – dumbbell curls ( 3 set of 8 with 10 pounds), Bar curls ( 3 set of 10 with 5 pound weight on each side of the bar), Bar Row (3 sets of 10 with 5 pound weight on each side of the bar)

Stomach – Lower ab leg lifts ( 3 sets of 20), Inclined sit ups ( 3 sets of 30)

= I lifted as heavy as I could, I felt a burn during the lifting but now I feel absolutely fine. I stretched before and after. I’m not sure how many calories I’ve burned but I still have dinner to go. Maybe that will be another 1000 calorie meal or at the lowest 500 calories depending on where I go tonight.

So far Breakfast and Lunch I have eaten roughly 2153 calories. I am usually averaging 2500 -3000 calories a day. A big fish with some grilled veggies and a salad sound great to me for dinner. That should bring me to over 2500 calories for the day.

If you don’t struggle to gain but are like the rest of my family and want to lose, this way of eating might be right for you too. Ditch the junk food that my brother always stashes. Opt for clean foods, and maybe even consider going Vegetarian. But unlike me, instead of weights, jump on the treadmill. You may have to restrict yourself from the red velvet pancakes and choose the egg white omelet but like they say “no pain no gain” or maybe in your case no lose.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
